Rules FAQs

If you have any questions about the rules, if you came up with some great house rules or have anything else to share, please comment below of email me (info@trench-club.com) and I will add them to the FAQ.

  1. Can Big Bertha aimat empty hexes?
    No. Units can only aim at other units in the “declare attacks” phase, not hexes on the board.
  2. Can Big Bertha hit airplanes?
    No. Big Bertha cannot attack or damage aircraft. Even if Big Bertha happens to hit a hex where there is an airplane, it cannot damage it.
  3. Does Big Bertha get combat experience if it randomly damages one of your own units?
    Yes. If it damages a unit in combat it gets 1 combat experience, if it destroys a unit she gets 2.
  4. Can you shoot at your own/allied units?
    No. You can only attack enemies. Only Big Bertha can randomly hit friendly units, but also has to aim at enemy units at declaration of attacks phase.
  5. Do units have to be placed in the river when they are placed on the board during game set up?
    They may be placed in water, but they do not have to.
  6. Why does Austria-Hungary start with 3 war bonds?
    Because their country-specific unit (Anti-Tank Gunners) costs less than those of the other parties (Big Bertha, Renault Ft-17, Mark I female).
  7. Does the Anti-Tank Gunner have combat advantage against Armored Cars?
    No. Only against tanks (A7V, St. Chammon, Mark IV male, Mark I female, Renault Ft-17).
  8. Can the Minelayer lay more than 5 mines?
    Yes, it can lay one mine every turn. However, more than 5 is very rare in practice, so only 5 mine markers are included. If you do need more, just use small pieces of paper as markers.
  9. Can you put 2 mines on one hex?
    No. You cannot put 2 mine markers or 2 mines on one hex.
  10. Are air units affected by mines?
    No.
  11. How much experience does the Poison Gas Launcher get when it damages several units?
    It gets 1 combat experience if it damages at least one unit and 2 if it destroys at least one. If it damages or destroys more, there is no extra combat experience.
  12. Does the Poison Gas Launcher fire back at multiple hexes?
    No. If the Poison Gas Launcher is attacked by an enemy ground unit in close combat, it will fire back, but only at that one unit and not at any adjacent hexes.
  13. Can a troop transport truck unload units into a river/lake?
    Yes, but only foot soldiers, i.e. units that could also move into a river by themselves. Remember: If the units are in the river, they may not attack or shoot back when attacked.
  14. Can the railway gun move to a meadow?
    Yes. The railway gun has 0.5 movement points and can hence move to a road hex. Since there is a general rule that units can use their remaining last 0.5 movement points to move to a meadow, the railway gun could also move to a meadow hex.
  15. From which hexes can a foot soldier enter a fort?
    From every hex adjacent to one of the two opposite entrances.
  16. Can the Troop Transport Truck move 3 or 4 hexes?
    Errata: The Troop Transport Truck has 4 movement points (as indicated on the unit mat). There is a misprint on the miniature which only shows 3 movement points.
  17. Does entering a fort end the turn (or can you use it to short-cut movements)?
    Yes. Entering a fort ends the turn for this unit.

How to Play Trench Club - English

How to Play Trench Club - German

21 Comments

  • Can units in forts attack other units if so, is the whole fort considered as being next to the adjacent hexes?

    Backer
    Posted August 28, 2021
    • Units in forts can neither attack nor be attacked. They behave like they are out of the game. This works best for the gameplay. The historical background is the following: The forts are defensive structures. Units in the fort cannot attack unit further away unless they leave the fort (unless they have artillery, which the special forces unit “gun turrets” represent). However, they are superior in defense. Attacking a fort in close combat would simply be suicide, resulting in the attacking unit being destroyed and the fort occupants not taking any damage. Therefore it is not allowed in the rules to attack a fort. The only way is to conquer a fort by getting to the unprotected side (the entrances). E.g., Fort Douaumont near Verdun was hit by more than 400,000 shells in 1916 and remained largely undamaged. However, it was captured several times, alternately by French and German infantry – once even accidentally, when two German companies came under their own artillery fire and stormed the Fort unplanned to seek shelter.

      Posted August 28, 2021
  • Are you going to make this FAQ downloadable?

    Stephen Farrell
    Posted September 10, 2021
    • We don’t plan that, since we see that as a “living” list, where things are constantly added. But you print this page out (or print to PDF) and it should come out OK in terms of formatting, etc.

      Philipp (PKB Games)
      Posted September 10, 2021
  • ;In the solo rules what does this mean? Both sides seem the same “always use the front side
    with the rounded punch borders”

    Charles Lauricello
    Posted September 11, 2021
    • If you think of the tokens as coins, you will find that one side (let’s say heads) has softer edges as the other side when you turn it around (let’s say tails). This comes from the punching out/cutting from the cardboard. The knifes come from one side and press the cardboard down a bit. This way you can determine “top” and “bottom” of the token. Makes sense? If this is confusing, just take a pen and draw a little dot on one side of the token. Just make sure you don’t draw the same unit twice.

      Philipp (PKB Games)
      Posted September 13, 2021
  • Hi Philipp, here is the question.
    In my turn, I move one infantry (that is adjacent to a neutral/enemy fort) and I conquest it. In the same turn, can I move another unit into the fort even if it is not adjacent to the fort (i.e. it is 2 or more hex away from the fort)? (The reason why the second unit enters, is that the unit has several damages and needs to recover)

    Rob
    Posted September 16, 2021
    • Yes. Once you conquered a Fort you put a flag chip on it and it is yours. You can move own units in your Forts at any time. It does not matter how long it is yours already.

      Philipp (PKB Games)
      Posted September 16, 2021
  • Idea for house rule with the winter side if the map. Each round you roll a die to see what the weather conditions for that day will be. Roll 1-4 and weather is fine. Roll 5-8 and you have heavy snow. Roll 9-12 and you have deep freeze.
    When weather is fine, game plays as normal. When heavy snow, you can’t move as fast, so each movement requirement is increased by .5 (roads are now 1, snow/meadow is 1.5 and forest is 2) for the round. If deep freeze, then things take longer to start up and your distance for each unit is reduced by 1. If a unit only has one movement (Heavy Morter), they can only be moved by transport. Also, the river is now frozen and can be crossed by all units, but be careful if you leave units on it, as next round they could be stuck in water if not frozen again and if a unit that can’t normally be in water is there and conditions change they are sunk and lost. Gunboat can’t move as they are stuck in ice but can attack and defend from their starting position.

    David Yarc
    Posted September 21, 2021
    • That’s a great idea, David! Have you tested it in play already?

      Philipp (PKB Games)
      Posted September 21, 2021
      • Not yet, thought of it on recently when introducing and playing the game with a friend. Should be meeting up in a few weeks to play again and will be trying out then. Will reply if it works well or not in action.

        David Yarc
        Posted September 22, 2021
  • I couldn’t find the answer to this one, so I would really appreciate a clarification:

    Can the Anti-Aircraft Unit attack ground units, or air units only?

    Thank you for a great game!

    Magnus
    Posted September 21, 2021
    • Hi Magnus,
      the anti air units cannot shoot at ground units, as you can see on the unit card.
      On the right side there is a little blue cloud with “1-3”.
      This means that this unit can only shoot at air units with the range from 1 to 3 hexes.
      You can read this in the discription on page 9 Phase 2 where you can find the blue cloud, too.

      Christian
      Posted September 22, 2021
      • Thank you! I assumed this was the case, but couldn’t find any entry that stated that the AAU could attack air units _only_, though it certainly makes sense!

        Magnus
        Posted September 23, 2021
  • Hallo Philipp,

    why do the railwaygun and the gun turrets cannot earn experience?

    Christian
    Posted September 22, 2021
    • Railway gun: in situations where it gets significant experience (veteran, hero) that’s usually because it is in a position where no enemy can reach it. That’s bad for them already, but increasing the firepower further would be too much of an advantage in such a situation and break the game.

      Turrets: basically, because they cannot be destroyed. So they would always become war hero, if only the game last long enough. That again, would break the balance. The turrets should be “annoying” for the opponent, but not make their forts unable to be captured.

      Philipp (PKB Games)
      Posted September 24, 2021
  • When executing a flank or surround (say for example two units are both attacking the same enemy unit with a flanking attack) attack, does each unit get to roll extra dice or only the first one, since by the time the second unit fires the first unit can no longer “theoretically attack” because it has already used its attack for the turn?

    Jesse
    Posted September 24, 2021
    • Both get the extra red dice.

      The „can theoretically attack“ just excludes units which cannot attack at all (transport truck), cannot attack on close range (e.g., Howitzer) or cannot attack on ground/air (e.g., a tank cannot even theoretically attack a plane)

      Philipp (PKB Games)
      Posted September 25, 2021
  • I am pasting some Q&A that were discussed on BGG:

    1. Minimum range. If the min. range is higher than 2, need I take the shortest way? Or I can combinating to draw the path like : /\ . So I draw the distance 3 but it could be 2.
    ## Shortest way. Or read it the other way around: If e.g., a Howitzer has range 3-4, it cannot attack any unit that is 1 or 2 hexes away.

    2. My movement finished because I touched 2nd time the enemy unit. But on this field is standing already allied unit. So is the movement allowed? (In short: Does allied unit neutralize the enemy contact?)
    #No. You cannot move there in this case.

    3.Fort Turret has a range to all adjacent fields next to the whole fort?
    #Yes. That’s what’s meant by the comment on the unit chart “Range counts from any fort field”

    4. Can I conquer a fort where on entrence is an enemy unit?
    #Yes. Units cannot be “on an entrance”. Once a unit moves on an entrance field (the right or left hex of the four hexes of a fort), then it is considered inside the fort. To visualize that, I recommend placing units in the middle of the fort.

    5. Can I cut the corner when go from road the brodge? Map: (road vertical, bridge horizontal) |-
    #Yes. See rules page 6: “You don’t have to follow the course of the road, but can also move across a road or ‘cut corners’.”

    6. Can the infantary, which is staying next to the fort entrence to conquer it, fight and next turn fort is reached?
    #Yes.

    7. Are units limited if I use all minis and chips? Or I can use other replacement?
    #That depends on how you want to play it. The more units of the same type you will allow, the longer the game will last. If I have a lot of time, I usually play with unlimited purchases. If I want a quicker game, we usually play that you can only have 1 or 2 units of each type at any given time.

    8. On the mixed terrain, it s is taken into consideration easier to move and better to defend? Or one terrain is dominating? (If on 1 hex is road and forest, then no defence bonus)
    #There should be no mixed terrain. Every hex has exactly one type. If there is a road, that only counts as a road terrain type. Just look at the “dominant” visual of the hex. E.g., a single tree is still only decoration for a meadow and would not quality as a forest. If a particular field is not clear, I am happy to clarify.

    9. The plain fly over the fort? (If yes, then the fort is 1 hex?)
    #No. See page 6: “You cannot go/fly over Forts (also not over the entry hexes).”

    10. Can I enter the fort in the 1st turn if I am standing on its entrence and move in the same time? ( position nr 9).
    #Yes. Conquering a fort with a foot soldier takes the full movement points of the foot soldier. So if the foot soldier still has all movement points (because it is standing on a hex adjacent to a fort entrance) it can conquer the fort.

    11. Terrain with mills have country roads(small ones). Is this a road in movement understanding?
    #No. This is just decoration.

    12. Are buildings treated as meadow?
    #Yes. They are just decoration.

    Philipp (PKB Games)
    Posted October 20, 2021
  • Hello, just have a few rules questions-
    1. Does the Big Bertha gain experience in the same white/white/yellow/yellow/red as the other units? I noticed it’s board on has 3 pips for EXP rather than the 5 like the others.
    2. – When the rulebook states to roll dice for the Special Forces Unit to determine which you get, how do you know which 12 sided die result nets you which unit? As there are only 8, we had a hard time figuring that out.
    3. Can units inside a fort pile inside a truck if the truck is inside the fort? My friend bought 2 Infantry and a Truck in the Fort but when he moved them out he did it as Truck- Inf.- Inf. and then tried to load the truck. I said “Moving out of a Fort is movement, the Truck would have already been finished.” To which he said “okay, instead, I move the Infantry inside the truck BEFORE the Truck leaves and then he drove the Truck to near another Fort and unloaded.
    And finally, 4. Will you be releasing any expansions, this game is GREAT!
    Thank you!

    Derek
    Posted November 17, 2021
    • 1. Yes. 2 white, 2 yellow, 1 red. With each experience level (=color) it hits more accurately
      2. Assign the Special Forces to die numbers 1-8 and re-roll at 9-12
      3. Neither is allowed. Trucks need to leave forts empty. And: trucks cannot interrupt their move, i.e. they move and then unload units. They cannot move, then another unit moves (into the truck), then the truck unloads. That would interrupt the trucks move, which is not allowed.
      4. Yes, I will 🙂 Please sign up to the newsletter
      (the box at the very bottom of this page) to receive updates. I am super happy to hear you like the game 🙂

      Philipp (PKB Games)
      Posted November 17, 2021

Leave a comment

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. More informationen

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow Cookies" to provide the best browsing experience. If you use this website without changing the cookie settings or click "Accept", you agree to this.

Close